Stop. Right. There.

 

This article.

Not only is it written about one of my heroes but it’s laced with such wisdom I feel the need to make sure we all read it. Like more than once.

Diane speaks about ‘seasoned’ athletes, not to be mistaken by elite athletes.

Here’s a quick story.

The other day coach Dana and I were working out together and I got to witness yet another one of her snatch PR’s. This one, a really big one that she’d been chasing for quite some time. We screamed and did the happy dance. That’s just what you do. But then she asked if I thought she should try for just 5 more pounds. Immediately I said no. I have no idea what would make me tell her no. I mean, why wouldn’t I be a big supporter and tell her to go for it?

Intuition. Experience.

We decided she needed to be grateful for what her body allowed her to do that day. Work on getting another PR the following week. Don’t be greedy.

Well if it weren’t a week or so later when I hit a PR by myself in my home gym. Immediately I sent the video to Dana and called her. We screamed. And did the happy dance over the phone. Again, that’s just what you do, right? I asked her if I should go up just 5 more pounds. She immediately said no and reminded me that I should not be greedy. Be happy with what my body allowed me to do that day.

The moral of this story and to back up what Diane Fu referred to in her article is being seasoned enough to know when to stop. Stop. Right. There. Celebrate. Breathe. Don’t be greedy.

Lastly, you wanna know who else can relate to this story? Annie Thorisdottir. You know, the 2nd fittest woman on earth at this year’s CrossFit games — this remarkable title after a devastating back injury just one year ago. She learned a lot in the last year and so have I.

I suffered a terrible back injury myself being greedy at the gym and it was not worth it. It sidelined me for almost a year and I’m just now getting back to where I used to be. Don’t push through the pain for a PR or for a WOD. Stop. Right. There. Ask a friend if you should stop, better yet, ask a coach what they think. We’re here for a reason. We’ve all had set backs and seen injuries that have caused our friends pain and frustration. Strive to be the seasoned athlete Diane Fu is referring to in the article above.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

